OPEID: 012297
Cosmetology Operator

  • The cosmetology operator course is available in both English and Spanish.
  • The course takes approximately 8.5 months to complete.
  • Admission Requirements: 17 years or older, and a high school diploma or GED or equivalent.

To prepare the student in the basic skills for licensure and practice of cosmetology as prescribed by Texas State Law.
Course format
Students attend theory classes during all phase. They are held one hour each day except on Saturday.  Clinic classes in which students perform services upon the public encompass the reminder of the hours. Supervision by a licensed instructor provides learning situations for practical applications of cosmetology. A student is not allowed to perform beauty services until 120 hours of pre-clinic schooling is completed.
Course Evaluation
Written exams for theory will be given on each subject. Monthly progress reports containing theory and practical grades and projects completed are reviewed with each student. To be progressing satisfactorily, students must maintain a 70% grade average which is calculated at payment periods to comply with school’s satisfactory progress statement.
Based on 1000 hours of cosmetology training as required by Texas law

Curriculum and Hours


Total – 800 Hours

  • Principles of Hair cutting (Reference points/lines/sections/angles
  • Client Consultation/Draping
  • Proper use of Hair cutting Tools
  • Hair cutting Techniques (Women’s haircuts / Men’s haircuts)

Nail Care

Total – 100 Hours

  • Nail Structure and Growth
  • Nail Disorders and Diseases
  • Client Consultation
  • Procedures for Basic Manicure / Oil Manicure
  • Massage Techniques
  • Safety / Disinfection / Laws and Regulations

Skin Care

Total – 100 Hours

  • Structure of the Skin
  • Skin Disorders
  • Consultation / Skin Analysis
  • Skin Care
  • Facial Procedures / Manipulations
  • Safety / Disinfection / Laws and Regulations

Cost Information Cosmetology Program

Books and Equipment$1,200
Administrative Fee$100
Total Cost $8,399
  • Tuition is charged by payment period for students receiving financial assistance.
  • Monthly payments may be arranged for all courses.
  • Books and equipment are not required to be purchased from the school.
  • The student must purchase their own black scrub pants to be worn with school shirts.
  • The student must provide 2 passport/wallet size photos.

Additional Fees:

  • Uniform shirt fee: $75.00 + tax (Additional $15 for size 2x and up.)
  • Locker key fee: $10.00
  • TDLR Registration Fee $25.00 money order

Payment options:

The school accepts cash, checks, money orders, credit/debit card, and Title IV for qualified students.

References: English

Milady textbookISBN# 9781285769417$133.95
Milady exam reviewISBN# 9781285769554$40.95
Milady haircuttingISBN# 9781439058961$40.95